Cornucopia is located in the mountains of Northeast Oregon south of Baker City and just north of Halfway. It had its beginnings in 1884 when prospector Lon Simmons discovered gold in the region. Mining activity expanded and the site had a population of over 500 by 1885. A post office was established at the site on December 7, 1885 with E. M. Gieger appointed the first postmaster. Since many of the incoming miners were from the mine fields of Cornucopia, Nevada it was suggested the post office be named Cornucopia. The name derives from a Latin phrase for “Horn of Plenty”.
The community was officially platted in 1886. Cornucopia is unique among Oregon gold camps in that it sits in a rugged mountain valley that resembles some of the alpine camps in the Rocky Mountains. The steep terrain necessitated the use of an elaborate aerial tram, much like the trams common in Colorado. Cornucopia endured extremely harsh winters with deep snows. Several mines were established including Last Chance, Queen of the West, Union-Companion, and the Red Jacket.
Initially the mining district was known as Pine Creek, and two adjacent camps, Cornucopia and Allentown, competed to be the central settlement of the mines. Ultimately Cornucopia absorbed its neighbor, and in later years the district was also known as Cornucopia. The population peaked at about 1500 and consisted mostly of mine workers. Cornucopia had multiple general stores, a boardinghouse, saloons, a hotel, a post office, and a school. Millions of dollars in gold was mined in the district starting in 1885 and ending during World War II. It became the largest gold mining region in Oregon.
The mixture of old equipment and horses being the only form of transportation greatly hindered the town’s success. The original mining claims began to diminish in production but new strikes in 1915 led to a continued mining boom. A large stamp mill was constructed and technology improvements such as electricity and pneumatic drills aided in gold extraction. However, the Great Depression resulted in a steep decline in mining activity and the town population by 1930 was listed as ten. It did experience another boom in the mid-1930s but during World War II it was deemed by the U.S. Government illegal to mine gold so miners could focus on war time metal mining and mining at Cornucopia ceased. The town essentially became abandoned.
The post office was discontinued on June 30, 1942. In recent times it has become a tourist attraction as a ghost town as some of the old buildings are still standing.
Contributed by Steve Lent, Historian




